Brewmeister Mondays!

Posted on December 27, 2010

1


Here’s a  little something new for WLP (Warm Little Pond).  Close friends of mine know that I am a big fan of dark beer.  My working motto is if you can see through it, it’s not beer.  I have only a few exceptions to this rule, and it only applies to some hefeweizens, pilsners, and ales.  But let’s not get too carried away here, the darker the beer the better.  If I’m not drinking a porter or a stout, it’s because I ran out of it, or I’m at a bar with a lousy beer selection.

I now decree that every Monday on WLP will now be “Brewmeister Monday,” where I will drink and rate a different beer based on my own personal rating system.  I will not be rating the piss of the masses (Coors, Budweiser, Miller, etc.), but will instead be rating real beers, beers that can pair with meals, or even be considered a meal unto themselves.

The rating system will be on a scale of 1-5 where appropriate, or semi-detailed written analysis from the following categories:

Appearance: Opacity/color, head.  (Opacity:  1 = light, 5 = no light passes through.  Head:  Written description + scale of robustness).

Aroma:  General scent, bouquet and odor.  (Written description + scale)

Taste:  Flavor, mouthfeel, finish.  (Written description + scale)

Overall satisfaction:  Summation of beer experience.  1-10 scale.

Brewmeister Monday’s first brew:

Scottish Stout from Belhaven Brewery.

I picked this lovely brew up at the Nugget in Davis.  Close friends know that I have somewhat of an obsession with all things Scottish, the flames of which were first fanned by watching the movie Braveheart.  When I saw this Scottish stout, I simply couldn’t pass it up.  Here’s the review.

Opacity:  4.2.  This is a very dark beer, though some light passes through when held up to a light.

Color:  Black, no brown hues.

Head:  4.0.  This beer gives good head.  It forms without much provocation, and lingers once it forms.  Head is a light brown of color.

Aroma:  4.0.  Smells of burnt wood.  Not terribly bold, but definitely present.

Flavor:  4.2.  Very full-bodied.  Mild chocolate flavor.  Taste is accentuated by breathing through your nose.

Mouthfeel:  4.3.  Medium carbonation.  Not flat in the least.

Finish:  4.5.  Smooth with no bitter aftertaste, which is common for lower-end stouts and porters.

Overall:  4.2.  This is an excellent beer.  I would definitely buy this again.  It has a wonderful aroma, flavor and finish.  This beer’s strongest point is its aftertaste.  It leaves no resentful traces in your mouth.  All you are left with is an almost sweet taste of faint chocolate.  Very pleasant.  This would be a good beer to have with any hearty meal, namely steak, as well as desserts heavy in chocolate.

Posted in: Brews