New Debate: Is there an afterlife?

Posted on February 27, 2011

0


This is one of the better debates I have seen in a good while.  Sam Harris is as sharp as ever with his replies and adept ability to strip any argument down to its frail foundation.  Sam was good, but he was outshined this time by Christopher Hitchens who, in his dwindling health, hit home run after home run, forcing the opposition to make concession after concession until he gets at least one opponent to admit that religions are man-made.  I don’t think I have ever heard Hitch so poignant.

The video below is the first 14 minutes of the 90 minute debate.  The whole debate is not available on YouTube, but you can find the whole thing at the Jewish Tv Network website.

I enjoy watching debates with Jews much better than ridiculous young earth Creationists, or cdesign proponentsists.  As far as I can tell, these Jews are just atheists who happen to believe in God.  It truly baffles me.  This is a good-humored debate though, and it’s very enjoyable.  Hitchens is truly at his best here, and it’s a shame that we may not have him much longer.

