An interview with Stephen Jay Gould

Posted on June 11, 2011

0


I was surfing YouTube videos, like I do, and came across some interviews many great scientists.  I thought it might be fun to post some interviews of my scientific and intellectual heroes as part of a series over the next couple of weeks.  The first of the series is an interview with perhaps my favorite scientist/intellectual ever–Stephen Jay Gould.

Gould was a Harvard paleontologist and evolutionary biologist.  He is mainly known for the concept of “punctuated equilibrium” as an alternative to the classic “phyletic gradualist” model of organismal evolution over long periods of time.  His natural history essays, which take up over ten published, book-length volumes, greatly contributed to me choosing the path I am on today, which is studying to be an evolutionary biologist.  He is my all-time favorite science writer, and I wish to share him with all of you.  He died in 2002 at age 60 due to lung cancer that later spread to his brain.  He is missed.

Posted in: Science